Tamgaly Tas and the City of Nomads

Tamgaly Tas means, if translated from Kazakh, “rocks with signs” or “pictures (inscriptions) on rocks", and they are more known among people аs “pictured cliffs". On the right bank of the Ile River, there are about 1000 different rock carvings that are attributed to the late Middle Ages, they are petroglyphs, images of deities, Buddhist inscriptions, among which the most famous image is that of three Buddhist deities.

The holy text, attributed by historians to the XII century "Ohm mane padme hum" ("snowy pearl in a lotus flower" or "Blessed be the Born from lotus”) is carved in Sanskrit under the pictures.  The inscriptions on the rocks are made in Tibetan and Kalmyk.  According to the legend, in the X century, a march of Buddhist missions to Semirechye took place. When they reached the Ile River, an earthquake happened, and a big block of a cliff fell down. This event was considered by the Buddhists as a sign to return home to India.  They carved on the split-off piece of rock three images of Buddha. Nearby, on the adjacent rocks, some other his images were carved as well. Another legend says that the inscriptions were left by the Kalmyks on “todorhoi nomyn bichig” (“clear literary writing”), which was created by Oirat enlightener Zaya Pandita in 1648 and was used for more than three centuries by Mongols – nomads, who carved Buddha images. Modern legends are stemmed from the belief that this area is anomalous. Local inhabitants come here to receive treatment. They say that if you lean against the Buddha image, you can recover.
 
The City of Nomads
Some time ago, decorations of a medieval city on the bank of the Ile River were built for picture-taking of The Nomads Film, which became a milestone in the cinematograph of Kazakhstan. You bet: enormous budget, Hollywood stars in the leads. The film was demonstrated in cinema theaters “with a bang”. And the decorations were left. After The Nomads, they were spotted, for example, in the popular blockbuster “Day Watch”.


PROGRAMME

  • Departure from Almaty at 09:00 a.m. 
  • Arrival to Tamgaly Tas Stow. Walk in the gorge to the petroglyphs, photo session. Ascent to the up land for a better view of the area. 
  • Light meals and rest on a bank of the Ile River. 
  • Transfer to the City of Nomads. 
  • Familiarization with the City of Nomads, walk inside of the City. 
  • Gathering at the minivans (jeeps) and departure to Almaty.  
  • Arrival in Almaty at 05:00 p.m. 

THE COST
 
A trip in comfortable minivans (Mersedes Sprinter) - 9 000 tenges.

A trip in jeeps - 9 000 tenges. Note: a trip in jeeps of shorter in time on route. 

The cost includes transport, services of a Russian/Kazakh speaking guide, ecological duty.  

Additional options: an English speaking guide - 10 000 tenges. 

The Company can provide lunch for the additional cost of  3 000 tenges for one tourist.

We provide the option of driving a car by a tourist on route. The conditions of hiring are discussed at request and in the presence of needed skills and a driving license of such tourist. 
 
You can order the tour making a call to Travel Club Company:
telephone +7 (727) 258 51 17,
fax: +7 (727) 258 10 36, or sending your request by email: tour@travelclub.kz

Тамгалы Тас и город кочевников

Тамгалы Тас в переводе с казахского языка означает "камни со знаками" или "рисунки (надписи) на камнях", а в народе они больше известны как "писаные скалы". На правом берегу реки Или находятся около 1000 различных наскальных изображений, которые относятся к позднему средневековью, это - петроглифы, изображения божеств, буддистские надписи, среди которых самое знаменитое изображение - это три буддистских божества. 
 
Под рисунками высечен священный текст на санскрите, датируемый историками XII веком: "Ом манэ падмэхум" ("снежная жемчужина в цветке лотоса" или "Да будет благословен рожденный из лотоса"). Надписи на скалах сделаны на тибетском и калмыцком языках. По легенде в X веке состоялся поход буддистских миссий в Семиречье, когда они дошли до реки Или произошло землетрясение, в результате которого на землю упал большой кусок скалы. Случившееся было расценено буддистами как знамение, что им необходимо вернуться домой в Индию. На отколовшемся куске скалы они высекли три изображения Будды. Рядом на прилегающих скалах высечены и другие его изображения. Другая легенда гласит, что надписи были оставлены калмыками на «тодорхой номын бичиг» («ясное литературное письмо»), которое было создано ойратским просветителем Заей Пандитой Огторгуйном в 1648 году и использовалось более трёх веков монголами-кочевниками, которые высекли образы Будды. Современные легенды связаны с верованием, что эти места - аномальны. Местные жители приходят сюда лечиться, они говорят, что если прислониться к изображению Будды, то болезнь может отступить.
 
Город кочевников
Когда-то декорации в виде средневекового города на берегу реки Или построили для съёмок кинофильма «Кочевники», ставшего вехой в кинематографе Казахстана. Фильм прошёл в кинотеатрах «на ура», декорации были оставлены и поддерживаются в хорошем состоянии. После «Кочевников» они засветились, к примеру, в популярном блокбастере «Дневной дозор».
 

ПРОГРАММА

  • Выезд из Алматы в 09:00. 
  • Прибытие в урочище Тамгалы Тас. Прогулка по ущелью к наскальным рисункам, фотосессия. Подъем на возвышенность для лучшего обзора края. 
  • Перекус и отдых у берега реки Или. 
  • Переезд к городу Кочевников. 
  • Ознакомление с городом кочевников, прогулка внутри города. 
  • Сбор у авто и выезд в Алматы. 
  • Въезд в Алматы в 17:00.

СТОИМОСТЬ

Поездка на комфортабельных микроавтобусах (Мерседес Спринтер) - 9 000 тг.
 
Поездка на джипе - 9 000 тг. Примечание: поездка на джипах более короткая по времени в пути.
 
В стоимость входит транспорт, услуги русскоязычного/казахоязычного гида, экосбор. 
 
Дополнительные опции: англоговорящий гид - 10 000 тг. 
 
Компания также может предоставить ланч-бокс обеды дополнительной стоимостью  3 000 тг для каждого туриста.
 
Мы предоставляем опцию вождения туристом машины в процессе поездки. Условия предоставления обсуждаются при запросе и наличии соответствующих навыков и водительского удостоверения у туриста.
 
Заказать тур можно, позвонив по телефонам компании TravelClub:
tel: +7 (727) 258 51 17,
fax: +7 (727) 258 10 36, или направив запрос на почту - tour@travelclub.kz